红豆杉A:好处、剂量和副作用

千金子A是一种从中国棍子苔(Huperzia serrata)中提取的化学物质,可作为一种胆碱酯酶抑制剂。人们使用千层塔A来提高记忆力和注意力,自20世纪80年代以来,它一直被用于这一目的。千层塔A的传闻好处被认为是增强了流动智力,提高了掌握概念的能力。

它是什么

千层塔是一种化学合成物,来自于中国的夜来香(Huperzia serrata)植物。它也被称为千层塔。千层塔在传统中医中已经使用了几个世纪,最近,它被研究为对认知功能的潜在益处。

它是如何工作的

石杉碱A通过抑制乙酰胆碱酯酶发挥作用,该酶负责分解神经递质乙酰胆碱。这样一来,它可以增加大脑中的乙酰胆碱水平,这与改善记忆和认知功能有关。它对乙酰胆碱酯酶有很高的抑制性亲和力,导致其半衰期很长[1][2]。

Huperzine A优于其他乙酰胆碱酯酶抑制剂,因为HupA特异性地抑制乙酰胆碱酯酶G4,这是胆碱能突触处的一种生理上的重要形式[3]。HupA还可以恢复可卡因成瘾者的胆碱乙酰转移酶功能。HupA可以比其他同样作用的药物更容易穿过血脑屏障。

总的来说,羽扇豆碱A的作用方式有很多,通过减弱氧化应激,调节凋亡蛋白和干扰淀粉样前体蛋白的代谢[4][5][6][7]。

神经保护作用

红豆杉A还可作为NMDA和谷氨酸受体的拮抗剂发挥作用。通过阻断NMDA离子通道而不产生任何拟精神病效应,在缺血和阿尔茨海默氏病的情况下,红豆杉A可加强认知保护[8]。
神经发生

海马体是大脑中负责记忆形成的部分。已有研究表明,石杉碱A可增加海马区的神经干细胞(NSC)的水平,这可能有助于提高认知功能[8]。在体内和体外,红豆杉A促进了海马的神经生成。这导致了记忆的改善。

在前额叶皮层,红豆杉A使多巴胺增加112%[9]。

健康益处

健康益处大多是在动物研究中发现的,因此尽管它们很有希望,我们还是希望在推荐使用红豆杉A之前看到更多的人类证据。
1. 可能增强记忆力

第四期临床试验表明,在有典型遗忘的老年人中,古藤碱A可以明显改善记忆[10]。

在高中学生中,在补充0.1毫克/天的4周后,超级海洛因A导致考试成绩的提高[11]。

剂量被分成两片0.05毫克的药片。

2. 可减轻痴呆症的症状

红豆杉A可以减少阿尔茨海默病引起的炎症和脑细胞死亡[12]。它是通过保护β淀粉样蛋白的堆积来实现的。这项研究是在动物身上进行的。

在阿尔茨海默病发病率不断上升的西方国家,人们对红豆杉A产生了更大的兴趣。一项针对阿尔茨海默病患者的临床试验发现,右旋糖肽A能够改善生活质量,而且没有任何意外的毒性[13]。动物实验表明,千金子A能保护人体免受有机磷的伤害,并能减少谷氨酸引起的毒性。

在阿尔茨海默病患者中,0.2毫克的剂量没有出现认知能力的提高,但0.4毫克的剂量确实出现了提高[14]。这是一个很高的剂量,然而它表明在400微克的剂量下,古霉素A可以被耐受24周。

3. 可以治疗可卡因成瘾

由于其作为乙酰胆碱酯酶抑制剂的作用,石杉碱A增加了乙酰胆碱的水平。这增加了大脑中的多巴胺释放,可以阻断可卡因成瘾的途径[15][16]。

一项双盲安慰剂对照研究考察了羽扇豆碱对可卡因依赖者的影响,并表明羽扇豆碱可能是减少可卡因成瘾的安全方式[17]。这是一项初步研究,但它重复了在动物身上的类似发现,在动物身上,类似羽扇豆蔻的化合物(乙酰胆碱酯酶抑制剂)阻断了猴子的可卡因自我施用,减少了大鼠和小鼠的成瘾性[18][19][20][21]。

与乙酰胆碱酯酶抑制剂多奈哌齐、里瓦斯蒂明和塔克宁相比,服用灰黄霉素a时大脑中的乙酰胆碱水平最高。

与这些乙酰胆碱酯酶抑制剂相比,石杉碱A能更好地穿透血脑屏障,具有更好的生物利用度,能延长乙酰胆碱的释放时间[22]。

这可以诱发一种平静的能量感。

4. 可以增强情绪

轶事

对情绪的好处通常是命中注定的,但传闻中的好处表明情绪得到了提升。心情的好处可能是能量和清晰度的提高。前额叶皮层的去甲肾上腺素水平因补充而增加。服用红豆杉A可能会导致情绪的改善。

5. 可能改善重症肌无力症

重症肌无力是一种自身免疫性疾病,表现为虚弱、复视和咀嚼困难。这种疾病通过伤害乙酰胆碱受体而导致缺乏自主运动控制能力。红豆杉A可以恢复重症肌无力患者的肌肉力量,并被用来代替美斯的宁,其副作用较小。

传闻中的好处表明,在治疗复视方面,右旋糖肽A优于美斯的宁。此外,它还能改善肌肉力量,没有任何过山车效应。然而,几个月后,石杉碱A会变得无效,因此在恢复服用前需要休息一下。

由于这些都是传闻,尽管有希望的说法,但还需要进一步研究。

副作用

副作用很少,但可能包括恶心、呕吐、腹泻、出汗和视力模糊。如果你遇到任何不良反应,请停止服用该补充剂并立即咨询医生。胆碱能症状可包括心率下降、头痛和恶心。

与乙酰胆碱酯酶抑制剂相比,服用黄连素A时对丁酰胆碱酯酶的抑制作用较小。这可能是因为对大脑G4乙酰胆碱的高亲和力降低了对全身丁酰胆碱的抑制作用[23][24]。因此,报告的副作用发生率较低。

据传闻,有报告称剂量超过100毫克就会做清醒的梦。

剂量

典型的剂量是每天50-200微克,通常分一次服用。千金子A可以不经食物而服用,因为它是水溶性的。

对于学习和记忆,0.1毫克的剂量已使高中生的学习成绩得到改善。

在治疗阿尔茨海默症的临床试验中,剂量从0.2到0.8毫克不等。

一个黄嘌呤A周期大约持续2-4周。循环的最佳中断时间尚不清楚。最好是谨慎行事,因为右旋肉碱A可能是强效的。

最好的千金藤素A补充剂

huperzine a benefits & limtations

本网站包含我们推荐的产品和服务的关联链接。我们可能会从通过这些联盟链接购买的产品中获得佣金。然而,这并不影响我们的评论。我们只推荐我们也曾使用过的产品,以帮助你做出最佳选择。

摘要

红豆杉A是一种强效的诺托品,据称可以提高注意力、记忆力和能量,但证据不一。

有必要循环使用石杉碱A,因为随着时间的推移你会产生耐受性。

红豆杉A可能对重症肌无力有好处,需要进一步研究。

Huperzine A: Benefits, Dosage, and Side Effects

Written on April 14, 2022

Huperzine A is a chemical that is derived from Chinese club moss (Huperzia serrata) that acts as a cholinesterase inhibitor. People use Huperzine A to improve memory and concentration and it has been used since the 1980s for this purpose. The anecdotal benefits of Huperzine A are perceived as enhanced fluid intelligence and increased ability to grasp concepts.

Image by Getty images

What it is

Huperzine A is a chemical compound that is derived from the Chinese club moss plant (Huperzia serrata). It is also known as Qian Ceng Ta. Huperzine A has been used for centuries in traditional Chinese medicine, and more recently, it has been studied for its potential benefits on cognitive function.

How it works

Huperzine A works by inhibiting the enzyme acetylcholinesterase, which is responsible for breaking down the neurotransmitter acetylcholine. In doing so, it increases levels of acetylcholine in the brain, which has been associated with improved memory and cognitive function. It has a high inhibitory affinity for acetylcholinesterase which results in a long half-life [1][2].

Huperzine A is superior to other acetylcholinesterase inhibitors because HupA specifically inhibits Acetylcholinesterase G4, a physiologically important form at cholinergic synapses [3]. HupA can also restore choline acetyltransferase function in cocaine addicts. HupA can cross the blood-brain barrier easier than other drugs that work the same way.

Overall, huperzine A works in a number of way, by attenuating oxidative stress, regulating apototic proteins and by interfering with amyloid precursor protein metabolism [4][5][6][7].

Neuroprotection

Huperzine A also works as an NMDA and glutamate receptor antagonist. By blocking NMDA ion channels without any psychotomimetic effects, Huperzine A may enhance cognitive protection in cases of ischemia and Alzheimer’s disease [8].

Neurogenesis

The hippocampus is the part of the brain that is responsible for memory formation. Huperzine A has been shown to increase levels of neural stem cells (NSC) in the hippocampus, which may help to enhance cognitive function [8]. Huperzine A promoted hippocampal neurogenesis, in vivo and in vitro. This results in improved memory.

In the prefrontal cortex, Huperzine A increased dopamine by 112% [9].

Benefits

The benefits are mostly found in animal studies, so despite their promise we’d like to see more evidence in humans before recommending Huperzine A.

1. Possibly enhances memory

Phase IV clinical trials have shown that Huperzine A can significantly improve memory in elderly people with typical forgetfulness [10].

In high school students, Huperzine A led to improved test scores after 4 weeks of .1 mg/day supplementation [11].

The dose was split into two 0.05 mg tablets.

2. May reduce symptoms of Dementia

Huperzine A may reduce inflammation and brain cell death resulting from Alzheimer’s disease [12]. It does so by protecting against beta amyloid build-up. This study was performed on animals.

Huperzine A is attracting more interest from the West, where Alzheimers incidence is increasing. A clinical trial of patients with Alzheimer’s disease found that huperzine A was able to improve quality of life without any unexpected toxicity [13]. Huperzine A has been shown in animal studies to protect against organophosphates and reduces glutamate induced toxicity.

In Alzheimer’s disease patients, cognitive enhancement did not occur at a dose of 0.2 mg, but did occur at 0.4mg [14]. This is a high dose, however it suggests that huperzine can be tolerated at doses of 400 mcg for 24 weeks.

3. May treat cocaine addiction

Due to its effect as an acetylcholinesterase inhibitor, Huperzine A increases the level of acetylcholine. This increases dopamine release in your brain and can block cocaine addicting pathways [15][16].

A double-blind placebo-controlled study examined the effect of Huperzine A on cocaine dependent individuals and suggests that huperzine A may be a safe way to reduce cocaine addiction [17]. This was an initial study however it repeats similar findings in animals where huperzine-a like compounds (acetylcholinesterase inhibitors) blocked cocaine self-administration in monkeys and reduced addiction in rats and mice [18][19][20][21].

The acetylcholine levels in the brain are highest when taking huperzine a compared to acetylcholinesterase inhibitors donepezil, rivastigmine and tacrine.

Compared to these acetylcholinesterase inhibitors, huperzine A better penetrates the blood-brain barrier and has better bioavailability which prolongs acetylcholine release [22].

This can induce a sense of calm energy.

4. Can enhance mood

Anecdote

The benefits for mood are typically hit or miss, however anecdotal benefits indicate a lifted mood. Mood benefits may be the result of increased energy and clarity. Prefrontal cortex levels of norepinephrine are increased from supplementation.

For those who are undertaking a stressful mental task, taking this may lead to an improved mood.

5. May improve Myasthenia Gravis

Myasthenia gravis is an autoimmune disorder that manifests as weakness, double vision and trouble chewing. This disease works by injuring acetylcholine receptors leading to a lack of voluntary movement control. Huperzine A may restore muscle strength in Myasthenia gravis patients and has been used in place of mestinon in cases with less side effect.

Anecdotal benefits suggest that huperzine A outperforms mestinon for treating double vision. Furthermore, it can improve muscular strength without any rollercoaster effect. After a few months however, huperzine A can become ineffective so a break is required before resuming dosage.

As these are anecdotal reports, further research is required despite promising claims.

Side Effects

Side effects are rare but may include nausea, vomiting, diarrhea, sweating, and blurred vision. If you experience any adverse effects, stop taking the supplement and consult your doctor immediately. Cholinergic symptoms can include decreased heart rate, headache and nausea.

In comparison to acetylcholinesterase inhibitors there is less inhibition of butyrylcholinesterase when taking Huperzine A. This may be because high affinity for brain G4 acetylcholine lowers availability for systemic butrylcholine inhibition [23][24]. Thus, there is a lower incidence of side effects reported.

Anecdotally, there have been reports of lucid dreaming at doses above 100 mg.

Dosage

The typical dose is in the range of 50-200 mcg per day, usually taken in one dose. Huperzine A can be taken without food as it is water soluble.

For learning and memory, 0.1 mg has led to improvements in high school students.

In clinical trials for Alzheimers, dosages have ranged from 0.2 to 0.8 mg.

A Huperzine A cycle lasts around 2-4 weeks. Optimal length of break from cycle is not known. It is better to err on the side of caution as Huperzine A can be potent.

The Best Huperzine A Supplements

This site contains affiliate links to products and services we recommend. We may receive a commission for purchases made through these affiliate links. However, this does not affect our reviews. We only suggest products we’ve also used, in order to help you make the best choices.

Best Huperzine-A Overall:  Life Extension Huperzine A

Best Value Huperzine-A: Source Naturals Huperzine A

Best Huperzine-A Powder: Nootropics Depot 1% Powder

Summary

Huperzine A is a potent nootropic that purports to improve focus, memory and energy however the evidence is mixed.

It is necessary to cycle Huperzine A as you can become tolerant over time.

Huperzine A may have benefits for myasthenia gravis that require further research.